Daily Archives: July 2, 2014

Summer Is Grand

So because of the heat everyone is driving and acting crazy. I get it; it’s hot but let’s not get all Godzilla on everyone’s butt and destroy everyone’s good mood.

I honestly don’t remember Connecticut (where I live) being this hot when I was younger. Than again my next-door neighbor had a pool and I was always in it. Now when I want to keep cool, I have to stand in the shower for half the day just to cool down my hot body (not as sexy as you think). It’s a good thing my boyfriends parents have a pool because now I know where I am spending my days off (uninvited guest).

The summer can be a great thing if you can stay cool but other times you can forever look like you took a swim, you’re body is just drenched (damn you’re sweaty). I wonder if it’s possible to attach an air conditioner to your body or around your neck like Flavor Flav’s clock necklace just to keep cool? I remember in the 90s the fan necklace was quite popular, I don’t know how though? The fan blew hot air, always needed batteries, died fast, you couldn’t run with it because you would always hurt yourself if the fan blades hit your lips or face; I know the blades were plastic but still…

The summer time can be quite eventful, especially if you have friends or know someone with a boat; those are the best people to know. Owning your own boat sucks because you have to buy it, insure it, clean it, store it somewhere like your mothers back yard but don’t let her know, just hide it under a tarp, lie and tell her you have lost kittens under there or a homeless family; she won’t question it for a second; if you know my mother, she would just judge you anyways and pretend you don’t exists until she needs something (annoying).

Let’s not forget BBQ’s, lots of BBQs. Now I am not the social type until I have a glass of wine than I become the most social butterfly ever; I will get in your face, talk your ear off, take your alcohol; you name it. I personally don’t like to eat other peoples food (psshhh who am I kidding), I would rather not get invited to something or to anything just because I feel forced to talk to someone I had no interest in talking to, I hate socializing also; I am awkward, I never know what to say after saying hi to someone. I hate making eye contact also when talking; I was told to look someone in between his or her eyes but seriously I can see their damn eyes still, I feel duped.
I also never want to take more food than I should; I am always worried that someone will not get enough so I hold back. I guess since there is more than enough food I will take as much as I want until it comes down to that last cheeseburger, you better believe it’ll turn into The Hunger Games and everyone will need to fend for themselves, I love effing cheeseburgers.

Summertime means trips to get ice cream, so cliché. Everyone does this, I say buy some vanilla frozen yogurt with some Resse’s Pieces from the store, go home, and make it for half the price; it is just that easy and cheaper too. I hate going to the ice cream parlor, spending $7.00 on ice cream for myself, let alone a family of 4, which initially will set you back at least $30.00 (you don’t buy that cheap crap). If you have someone at the ice cream parlor making it for you, you than are spending $35.00 because you just tipped him or her $5.00; it’s a conspiracy. Than once everyone gets their ice creams, you have to drive home in a hot car, ice cream melting everywhere, by the time you make it home (15 minute car ride) all the ice cream is just all over your car, you are pissed, screaming at the damn kids; everyone is freaking out, it is mayhem, get the Prozac.

I personally think the best part of summer is going to the beach. I love the way the sand feels between every crack of my body, always having sand in places that you wouldn’t think sand would and couldn’t possibly be in. I love laying on my beach towel trying to read on my tablet, sun just shining on my screen, not being able to see what I’m reading, always repositioning myself to make sure I am at just the right angle so that the sun isn’t bouncing off the screen and blinding me. I love when people run past me kicking sand right on me, forcing me to get up and run to the water only to see a shark coming out of the wood works, isn’t summer grand? (Said no one ever).

Hey guys please check out my other blog http://www.iamdelisa.com/