Daily Archives: February 7, 2016

To Sims 4 Is The Question

So, as you all may not know, I am an avid The Sims player, it has been the staple in my life. Granted, I’ve only played The Sims 2 – The Sims 4 but that’s ok, I equally enjoy them for different reasons.

When I heard Maxis was working on The Sims 4 with EA, my heart fluttered, maybe I was having a heart attack, who knows, all I know is that I was very excited for this since we didn’t get a base game since the release of The Sims 3 on June 2, 2009.

The Sims 3 was good except for the fact that it was glitchy and laggy, I couldn’t install too many expansion/stuff packs on my laptop and if I did, the game would crash. Granted, I have everything installed on my gaming PC but that is broken (sad panda). Also, the loading screen at the beginning of the game was absolutely atrocious. It took a minimum of 2 minutes for the game to start, why EA, why? By the time the game started, I had no desire to play. The build mode was ok, not the best, it definitely needed improvement. Even though these are a few of my pet peeves about the game I have positive things to say about it as well.

What I absolutely love about The Sims 3 is the abundance of customization within the game. The fact that you can use the style and color of a checkered couch and make everything in my Sims house match that couch is amazing to me. Also, driving in The Sims 3 made me happy, it felt realistic. Also, toddlers, I love those toddlers, who doesn’t love toddlers?

With that being said, The Sims 4 is the type of game that I personally like but others are on the fence about and I know why. First off, The Sims 4 is missing things, basically everything I just mentioned above is what’s missing from the game plus some.

When The Sims 4 was released on September 2, 2014, I instantly bought it because it’s the Sims. After installing and playing the game for a few hours, I noticed an obvious significant change. First off, the load time at the beginning of the game is roughly 10-20 seconds long (amazing). Also, the graphics are a lot better than in The Sims 3. Also, it’s not glitchy or doesn’t crash at all or isn’t laggy, even having The Sims 4 Get to Work, Spa Day, Outdoor Retreat and Get Together installed (playing this on my laptop), you can tell EA took the time to clean everything up for this game. The build mode is so much better, the ease of picking up and rotating rooms makes the game a lot more fun.

My main problem with The Sims 4 is the $10.00 stuff packs. First off, all the content in all 6 stuff packs should’ve either been free with an update or already added in the base game. Who wants a stuff pack that has five new items? Not I. If they released all 6 stuff packs as a bundle, I would buy it and feel like I am getting my money’s worth. I think EA is really milking it with the “unnecessary content”, if they could just give us the stuff we are actually asking for, that would be great. What we really want is toddlers, university related things, pets and seasons.

A while ago, there was a survey going around, asking simmers to pick, I believe up to three expansion packs they would love to see in The Sims 4. A few of those choices were a Rebuild Sims world, an On the Road expansion pack, a Metropolis expansion pack, a Back to School expansion pack and a Summer Vacation expansion pack to name a few. Why isn’t this happening EA? This seriously would make me so happy if this could happen, this is what the people want, why aren’t you listening to the people that give you ample amounts of money?

I know a few people are asking for The Sims 5, we don’t need The Sims 5, what we need is a finished Sims 4.

Photo Credit:http://economygaming.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/The-Sims-4-Game-Cover.jpg